Assistant Professor Ben Mazin wins Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

Award Recipient: 

Ben Mazin

Award Date: 

Monday, September 26, 2011

The White House

Office of the Press Secretary

President Obama Honors Outstanding Early-Career Scientists

President Obama today named 94 researchers as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.

The Presidential early career awards embody the high priority the Obama Administration places on producing outstanding scientists and engineers to advance the Nation’s goals, tackle grand challenges, and contribute to the American economy.  Sixteen Federal departments and agencies join together annually to nominate the most meritorious scientists and engineers whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for assuring America’s preeminence in science and engineering and contributing to the awarding agencies' missions.

“It is inspiring to see the innovative work being done by these scientists and engineers as they ramp up their careers—careers that I know will be not only personally rewarding but also invaluable to the Nation,” President Obama said. “That so many of them are also devoting time to mentoring and other forms of community service speaks volumes about their potential for leadership, not only as scientists but as model citizens.”

The awards, established by President Clinton in 1996, are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach.


National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Dr. Jonathan W. Cirtain, Marshall Space Flight Center

Dr. Ian M. Howat, The Ohio State University

Dr. Gregory G. Howes, University of Iowa

Dr. Benjamin A. Mazin, University of California, Santa Barbara

Ben Mazin